Poets logo

Monumental life

A poem

By Bahora Saitova Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Monumental life
Photo by Navdeep Panwar on Unsplash

I want to be like the old monuments

That withstood time and wars

That witnessed history in the making

That had to observe the atrocities

And the horrors of humanity

But stood strong and resilient

While I feel so small and insignificant

Wondering where my childhood went

Gone and wasted, the foundation shaky

While I was rushing to grow up

To live my monumental life

Of wild dreams made of fantasy

Not valuing the warmth of childhood

The wonders and the blessings of youth

Now yearning to go back to that safety

My soul plagued by fears

My mind wrecked by anxiety

Doubts eat away at my spirit

Feeling submerged

Trying to break through

I fail to see the road ahead

My plans falling apart

And all I can do is take a deep breath

And tell myself take it one day at a time

And watch the path appear

As I start to tread the road

Taking one step at a time

Letting go of all my painful desires

Like finally releasing my breath

So I can breathe again

And build my life back

By putting one brick at a time

***

Thank you for reading!

Bahora Saitova

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Bahora Saitova

Dreamer. Writer. Sees the magic of life through stories and words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.