Poets logo

Monarch

Stream of Consciousness

By Mother CombsPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
9
Image by rfotostock from Pixabay

Prince among butterflies

Flitting from flower to flower

Absorbing the sun

Flutter flutter flit

Much like the thoughts in my brain

Bouncing from subject to subject

Soaking up useless knowledge like a sponge

Master of trivia

Putting on airs of genius

Blending in rather than standing out

But feeling like you don’t quite fit in

So, standing off to the side

Trying not to be noticed

Nervously

Flutter flutter flit

Distraction

Dog runs by

Chasing its tail

Reminding me

That I was in the process

Of working on something really important

But I've lost the train of thought

Flutter flutter flit

I find myself in front of the television

With a coffee cup in my hand

The cat on my lap soaking up the warmth

Thumbing through the channels on the remote

Knowing nothing is on the tube

Procrastinating doing what needs to be done

Doing anything else instead

Flutter flutter flit

Standing at the kitchen sink

Suds up to my elbows

Staring out the window

At the squirrels in the backyard

Watching them run back and forth

Just like my thoughts

Flutter flutter flit

Stream of ConsciousnessFree Versefact or fiction
9

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm5 days ago

    This is really unique (including the structure) that paints a picture where you are simultaneously personifying the butterfly, while also identifying with it! I FLUTTERING loved it. Terrific work! 😁 🦋

  • "Procrastinating doing what needs to be done Doing anything else instead" This part was so relatable. Loved your poemA

  • This was so great I felt my mind wandering with each line. Loved it

  • Donna Fox (HKB)14 days ago

    Sooo relatable for me!!! Great work here MC!!! Honestly... I can't tell you how often I walk into another room and ask myself "what was I doing" and then spend ten minutes walking around as I try to "find my thought" 🤣

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    Flutter flutter flit, this poem is all of us sometimes, LOL.

  • shanmuga priya15 days ago

    I like your poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.