Poets logo

Mon Cocon a’ La Cannelle [My Cinnamon Cocoon]

By: Karlton A. Armistad

By Andrew LittlePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
"View From My Bedroom Window by: A. Little 2021"

1.

Gifted as my saving grace

Treated now with love and care, my very own safe space

From sleeping homeless on borrowed sofas

I’ve learnt to appreciate the silence and solitude of my own mochas

Sweetly scented smells followed by tiny chiming bells

Cinnamon spiced Banana Cake and frothing foaming hot Cocoa

Says this is my home to guests, feel welcome and respected

Never rejected or suspected of anything.

Cinnamon Infused Banana Bread by: A Little 2019

2.

Away working hard, making tasty flavoursome dishes

Living the life of a food Nomad was always one of my many wishes

Every waking thought and new cookery book bought

Served as golden breadcrumbs

Drenched in red rum to highlight my path home

I’ve seen the wonders of magnificent Spain

Dancing the morning a way in a Castle atop a mountain plateau

My senses I regain when I get off the chartered plane

Guided by the scents and smells of my cinnamon cocoon.

3.

From my bedroom view, looking out onto the Sea

Memories flow of You and seduces Me

Captivating and Raw, the way smoky dry ice thaws

The Savagery and intensity with which we make our own Laws

Communicated in sensual moans and very soft touches

We offer seductive captions while lost in our passions

Our bodies the canvas, our breaths the brushes

Countless journeys taken from Earth to the Moon

Guided by the scents and smells of my cinnamon cocoon.

4.

Beautiful Blooms by A. Little 2021

Comfort in my jaunts & walks through my magical little kingdom

My treasure island of floral jewels

Dazzle and shine as I freeze them in time

Momentary precision grants glorious vision to capture a colour

A scene or an illuminated flower

As by the sunlit Sea I shower

My locks dark and rich with salty water

Inspiration flows so effortlessly hear

My oasis, my nirvana, wrapped in Scottish trees & trauma

5.

Spiced Jamaican Chicken & Onions by A. Little 2020

Each time I leave; I come hurrying home to you

Beautiful slice of Scottish spice

That looks at the Sea from my bedroom view

My moments of sadness, and periods of madness

Are quelled by the promise that I have You to steady Me

I drop my bags and enter my kitchen

Diligently spicing and slicing my Jamaican seasoned chicken

Marinating it for a few hours as I mix eggs, flour, butter, bananas and sugar

Adding cinnamon, baking powder, juicy raisins, mixed spice and

Lemons bring the bake to a mesmerising level.

6.

I gave up everything, left it all behind

To preserve the last pieces of my peace of mind

With each change and challenge, I have never faltered

I press on and on knowing my life has been truly altered

There’s that enticing and inviting smell again

Lovingly lingering through my halls and caressing my walls

Guided by the scents and smells of my cinnamon cocoon.

[END]

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.