Poets logo

Momentum

Coming back to an old friend after a while away.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
8
Momentum
Photo by Mirsadra Molaei on Unsplash

It has been a long time, my friend.

Seasons have worn away

The carefully grown enthusiasm

Of my youth.

The optimism I meticulously pruned

Has withered beneath the shadow

Of this colossal rage.

A canyon has formed betwen my brows.

.

I am empty

Of all those young dreams,

The nebulas painting my soul in pink and blues

Of a traversable future.

It is not black but red,

Hopless, rusting, raging red.

The ship of my dreams has crumbled

Before I had the chance to let it sail.

.

The boards are rotten in my mind.

I've punched holes in the floor

And at some point,

I crashed through the attic,

Deciding that not moving because of the

Tragic instability of these dreams

Was better than gaining the momentum

That could carry me, set me free.

Free VerseFor Fun
8

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Fantastic! So many elements to appreciate in this. The contrast of past and present state, the momentum thread, and some killer lines!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.