Poets logo

Cigarettes and Cheap Highs

I don't know what fuels me

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
13
Cigarettes and Cheap Highs
Photo by Nazrin Babashova on Unsplash

Novacaine shot into my gums,

Blood left in my throat,

Smoke on my tongue,

And the perfect taste of my cheap high.

Fuck I'm hungry for those nights.

.

Hungry for the buzzing stereo rattling warped vision

And burning memories into my neck

Like the cigarette butt flying from my fingers,

Leaping about the car with all the freedom of a soaring bird.

Fucking give it to me.

.

Give me the whining synthwave from an era I'll never see.

Give me the haze, the fog, the piano key dreams

Of a future where towers didn't fall and Chex Mix stayed cheap.

Give me the future where I could fuck without consequence

And never have to lick the bowl for scraps.

.

The flavor has left the chat.

I am hollow, riding a machine into the burning sunset

Of a world on fire but even the apocalypse cannot stop

The roaring, ravenous thing inside of me.

Fury fucks like a fool.

.

I'm one cigarette away from losing my mind

But if I turn around now I'll know that it's gone.

There's nothing but Burger King's and McDonald's,

Gas stations and cheap capitalism hits

That make the blood in my mouth sweet.

.

The algorithm knows I don't like bitter.

It knows the stick in my hand is the only risk I'll take,

That the gas pedal pushed to the floor is just a bluff.

But do I know it? Do I know the game I'm playing?

Fuck yes.

.

I know this is nothing more than a midnight buzz,

A night call between the darkness and the chasm in my thoughts.

But the best injuries happen when I'm not trying to hurt at all.

So what's a little risk?

What's it matter if I stand through the sunroof and lose my breath?

.

It's a high.

It burns in my blood, shifts me into something molten,

Something unforgivable that cusses and spits and hisses

At the world with a venom that can't live in daylight and I...

Fucking love it.

___________________________________

Another in the "Cigarettes and..." series. You can see the rest below!

surreal poetryperformance poetryFree VerseCONTENT WARNING
13

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 2 months ago

    You are fucking amazing me all the time!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    This is excellent. The human spirit wanton in the midst of its own desire for order.

  • Fuck that was soul churning

  • TheSpinstress2 months ago

    The greed and sense of (maybe just almost) breaking out in this poem is thrilling and wonderful. I love a lot of lines but especially "But the best injuries happen when I'm not trying to hurt at all." It's so true, not just for damage to ourselves but also damage to others.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.