Poets logo

Modern Slaves Blue

✊🏾✊🏾✊🏾

By Kendrick WilliamsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Why do we have to hate

It can’t just be that we can’t relate

When Scientifically we are just a bundle of cells trying to be great

The differences we debate we can’t even keep it straight

Ask valid questions like

Why are more of my brothers named inmate instead of graduate

These are Black thoughts of a darker mind

We find ourselves Shackled by racial bias birthed by a deal with the devil signed in blood from slaves backs

The whip still cracks

we just feel the pain differently

Forced to run a race for equality barefoot because equality can’t afford equity shoes

This is the Moderns slaves blues

Does my pain enthuse do my words confuse

If so continue to peruse

From the moment my race was written on my birth certificate

My magnificence would be hidden labeled insignificant

But hear me now let these words ring in your ears on repeat, a mental triplicate

I am Black,I am proud and I will scream it from the mountain tops

You can’t deny me my rhetoric is like good weed

Inhale slow and hold it it’s for your betterment

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.