Poets logo

Modern Day Confessions

Reflections on the Surface

By Melissa LaussmannPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Modern Day Confessions
Photo by Erol Ahmed on Unsplash

Mass-produced books for 4.99

on manufactured faux-wooden shelves.

The smell of new books and the whiff

of perfume by the young

sales clerk who just walked by;

she smells like a sampling of every

perfume vial from the shop next door-

you know the ones that promise

a night of unforgettable moments

and rapture-

fantasies come alive through

glass bottles.

A woman at the counter

talks to the clerk about some books

she's read. She makes her voice

loud enough so those around might

gain from her vast knowledge.

I snicker cause I know that is not

the way of the wise, but

I'm the world's

biggest hypocrite.

The little cafe brews some

liquid delicious from Arabia-

a reason to tack on an extra

five dollars.

Exotic, my friend,

doesn't come cheap.

In a scorching hot car

with a copy of Purgatorio,

I wonder which level

I'm in now and where in hell

is Beatrice.

At the traffic light,

I spot a beautiful bird

on the sidewalk.

I rush to pull out my camera

so I can capture this moment-

and post it on Facebook.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Melissa Laussmann

I am a published poet and Eco-criticism scholar. My favorite form of poetry is haiku, and I'm enjoying exploring the world of short story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.