Poets logo

Misty Mountain

Mountains & Deserts: Rivers In-Between

By SchmalzPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I was atop a lofty mountain

Thought I’d stop and listen for awhile

Just let time go drifting by

I heard the bluebirds sing

I heard the babbling of a stream

I heard the sun sinking low

The passage of time getting into my flow

When I heard someone calling out to me

Then the mist of the mountain set in

And dusk was about to begin

I went searching down a stream

Like a fool who just learned to dream

Through a murky forest I’d never seen

Chasing some voice in the wind

Calling to me from everywhere I’d been

Fog was setting and moonshine drifting in

The light of a beam shone down before me

Like some form of old mythology

I sat there and basked in her glory

With the starlight shining in her eyes

I laid down beside the river

And where I laid down I cried

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.