Poets logo

Mistake or Best Decision Ever

Ask me in December, Babs' unofficial Challenge

By Colleen Millsteed Published 14 days ago Updated 13 days ago 1 min read
9
Image courtesy of Pixabay

My heart pounds every time I think of the future,

Every time I cement the decision I made months before,

Every step forward that gets me closer to my goal,

Knowing that I’m soon to walk out the door.

**

The terror rides me high upon my shoulders,

Scorching my mind when I attempt to sleep,

The excitement holds terror’s hand and thrums giddily,

Until the two are each other’s best friends, and me? I’m in way too deep.

**

The big girl’s truck now sits upon the driveway,

Crusted with red dirt from a weekend of fun,

She sparkles from the salty sand that decorates her edges,

Winking at me as she bathes in the sun.

**

The caravan that’s to be home is due any day now,

I’ve done all the courses to be able to pick her up with ease,

She’s a serious big girl’s off-road beast,

And she’ll be all dolled up in protection; ready to please.

**

Time and time again I was asked over the weekend,

“How do you like your new beastly truck?”

So, I tell them all about my upcoming plans,

And they excitedly wish me the best of luck.

**

In general conversation, friends and family often ask,

“Do you think you’ll enjoy living full time on the road?”

I ponder the question, give it my deepest thoughts,

But all that I can think about is my worry of the load.

**

I’m aiming to leave this city come June,

To wonder and roam at will,

To adventure, explore, discover and learn,

All while working full-time still.

**

Have I made the right decision, or will I drive off to regret?

But then I remind myself of my love of travel; I wistfully remember,

So, have I made a mistake or is this the best decision of my life?

Well, let’s make a date; we’ll meet right here, and you can ask me again in December!

Bab’s Unofficial Challenge can be found here :

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

For Fun
9

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Chloe Gilholy13 days ago

    This was brilliant I loved how you linked the prompt to the last line it closed off perfectly.

  • I think it's the best decision of your life but I'll ask you again in December hehehehe! Loved your poem!

  • Thavien Yliaster13 days ago

    Aw, not gonna lie, I was hoping that Your thumbnail for this was going to at least at be of Your new pickup truck. If I might ask, what kind of work do You do for a living that affords You the ability to live on the road like that? I've thought about buying a tiny house before on a plot of land where I could hook it up for utilities such as plumbing, but I've always figured that having one that I could hitch up to a truck wouldn't be as resilient if a storm were to come through and then I'd have to take a a year or few to save up to buy a prefabricated home again.

  • Great job!! And what a fun adventure. The hubby and I have talked about it but probably won't do it even though it has been fun thinking and planning to.😊💕❤️

  • Kendall Defoe 13 days ago

    Well done, and did you know that the first stanza spells out 'MEEK' by their first lines? ;)

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Love it!!! The rhyming and the closing were magnificent!!! 💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.