Poets logo

Misplaced

A Poem

By Shanice Steadman-OlliverPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Owl is the spirit of a next-door neighbor who overdosed

owl is a portent of death, there to witness

Collect

A story that exists retold and retold never written

gained life on its own when it met you

a poltergeist, it’s the essence that survived

its horror its significance its warning

it surprised me that we were all surprised, in a way

I was and wasn’t, knew the pit we spoke about up in Harlem

and before the silence, before my phone rang after 3 pm

from our friend who wasn’t a friend longer,

I only thought about my words which weren’t enough

and the last time I saw you, partied out

Thinking, how we got so far from best

the you that held and the me that listened and wished

How did we end up talking about a car crash?

I wanted often that part of me gone

Life might be easier, or that’s the way we know brings reward

any other is a heavy gift

The nights I longed to lie in the arms of the masks I wear

but I remember instead, or I used to

Now it comes, the live memory

in junk moon tears and sun-stroked rides

up a downhill and thunder without

I love a waterfall between here and there,

in out who gives

Everything near, grief!

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Shanice Steadman-Olliver

"...Beauty is life when

life unveils her holy face.

But you are life and you are the veil." - The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.