Poets logo

Misfit Melancholy Melody

A small symphony inside a chaotic mind…

By Melina ThreadgillPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I loathe this place.

Get up everyday

Just to put on a brave face

So I can hit erase

on the memories of yesterday.

*

Im always asking why?

Searching for the truth

In a sea of lies

I just want to leave it all behind.

*

And just float away….

*

I live for the moments

When you live for me

Like the star of your movie…

For a second, I’m beautiful

on your silver screen.

*

But, nothing lasts forever

And those moments

They don’t come for free…

*

It’s like a temporary high

On the rollercoaster of lows.

Another piece of me dies

Why can’t I ever just let go?

*

Some say I must like the pain

As I sit with my misery in the dark

Pointing fingers at who’s to blame

When there’s nothing left of this broken heart

*

I can’t trust anyone

I can’t even trust myself

Don’t want to look in the mirror

Unless it’s the reflection

of somebody else.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melina Threadgill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Melina Threadgill is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.