Poets logo

“All of the Monsters”

They don’t always hide in the dark…

By Melina ThreadgillPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Raise a glass to all the monsters

living inside my head

Cheers to the skeletons in the closet

My worst nightmares

are the ones sleeping in my bed

*

They sharpen their fangs

Yeah, they wanna take a bite out of me

The can smell my blood for miles

Ready to show me their teeth

*

They’re coming to eat my heart

Yeah, they wanna tear me apart you see

Always hiding in the shadows

Waiting to find what they seek

*

They are starving for attention

A strong hunger

for the smell of the broken

Desperation mixed with wicked intentions

*

I hear them calling

They whisper to me

All the things I wish i could be

Come with us

We will show you

things you’ve never seen

*

I can never resist

There’s nowhere left to hide

I feel their claws sinking in

They’re going to eat me alive

*

What is it they want from me?

They come back every time

It satisfies their craving

to taste the darkness I have inside

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melina Threadgill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Melina Threadgill is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.