Poets logo

Mine to weave

Poem

By Jazzy Published 9 months ago 1 min read
16
Mine to weave
Photo by Gaspar Uhas on Unsplash

Weight of the past

Stories we tell ourselves

Usurp the need to decide

Ahead that is unwritten

🔥

Brought forth from the dark

Serving the light

These emotions and words untamed

Understanding should guide our weary hearts

Let us have answers

Let these ring true

Everything good about me

Was once something the world had offered

🔥

Drawn forth

Towards that flame that won't die

Inertia finds a way

Are we truly free?

This is the only life I have known

A dream within a dream it seems

🔥

I'm not alone

I am here

Requiescat in pace

Authors note: I have been busy with work, so if I haven't had time to dedicate to Vocal for reading; but I plan to remedy that.

inspirational
16

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    It’s alright. We all need a break sometimes. I sure did, but I’m back and more ready than ever to read as much as I can. Great poem!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    The burning rose really sets the tone. Drawn back from grief and inertia, to find the words that ring true. Really hypnotic.

  • Gina C.8 months ago

    Gorgeous poem, Jazzy! There are some truly mesmerizing lines in here. I also really loved the word "Requiescat"...brilliant work :)

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Great poem and brilliant writing as always! Don't worry about reading everything. I took a break from reading on vocal recently and it really helped me absorb more writing when I came back! <3

  • Requiescat, I learned a new word today! This was such a beautiful poem!

  • Everything good about me Was once something the world had offered 🕊️❤️✨ which is why to be proud never feels right…. and appreciation does. This has been on my mind again lately. Beautiful poetry Jazzy

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Another great poem Jazzy!!

  • Matthew Mccahey9 months ago

    Beautiful poem! You talk about my poems being good, yours are quite something. Don't worry I've been busy too. We can't seem to keep up haha

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great poem! Loved it loved it.

  • Atomic Historian9 months ago

    I love it!

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    🥹🥹🥲 thank you

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.