Poets logo

Mine: To Have and to Hold

"If it's destroying you, then it isn't love, my dear." ~ Unknown

By Caroline JanePublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Mine: To Have and to Hold
Photo by Treddy Chen on Unsplash

I saw you standing,

a proud tower of Eden.

I had to have you.

With splinters of ice,

that I laid in clement times,

I got into you.

Exploiting weakness

and eroding your softness.

I made you brittle.

Now, you fall apart

into my ocean abyss.

Piece by piece, you're mine.

sad poetrynature poetryheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    Sending hugs for this amazing poem, as always wonderful words Caroline

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh wow, you did an amazing job making me feel! Those last few lines held so much emotion. Excellent.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is gorgeous. Very well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.