Poets logo

Milwaukee Man

sparking away the cold

By Jenna SediPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
Milwaukee Man
Photo by Mike Cox on Unsplash

Classic slip and fall.

He caught me, strong arms on ice,

Never wavered once.

.

“Where are you headed?”

Said he’d keep me safe, gave me

Shit for falling fast.

.

Laughter sparked his eyes,

“Not from around here, are you?”

Warm blush burnt my cheeks.

.

He offered his arm,

I thought only the South knew

Gentlemen these days.

.

I spelled his name wrong,

Little keyboard on my phone

That likes to spite me.

.

Back and forth, should I?

It’s been four days, I don’t want

To seem desperate.

.

Screw it. I don’t care.

I text the Milwaukee man.

Three dots come and go.

.

I chuck my dumb phone

Across the room. It slams hard.

Gasp and rush to check.

.

My cracked screen shows green.

An ugly android message.

Don’t be stuck up, bitch.

.

“See you at seven,

Will you fall for me again?”

My face burns blood red.

love poemshumor
1

About the Creator

Jenna Sedi

What I lack in serotonin I more than make up for in self-deprecating humor.

Zoo designer who's eyeballs need a hobby unrelated to computer work... so she writes on her laptop.

Passionate about conservation and sustainability.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Awww, will you fall for me again? That's sooooo cute!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.