Poets logo

Mikeydred's End Of 2022 Poetry Challenge

Feel Free To Drop Your Challenge In Comments Here or in The Vocal Facebook Groups

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
6

Introduction

In the past, I have set up poetry challenges to stimulate my and others' creativity and thought I would first do this challenge as an article. As I will post this in the Vocal Poetry Community I probably don't have to write six hundred words, but I will do it for this article and include some poems from previous challenges I set as well as my poem listing my favourite Vocal Groups.

I suppose this is my own idea for a Vocal Challenge and prompt, although it is my own audience who delivers the prompts, though there is a Vocal Writing Prompts group as well here:

and other groups such as True Crime, Horror Story & Dark Poetry and Vocal+Assist drop in their own prompts from time to time and they can be quite stimulating and fun, and do get good responses.

I often speak to people who have writer's block or are not sure what to do next and these sorts of things are great for stimulating ideas in the minds of creators.

Also, part of this is hopefully to help me reach my Millenium of stories on Vocal before New Year's Eve in 2022, so I suppose it is a bit of self-interest for me, but I do like creating challenges for myself and prompts/challenges like this introduce a little random fun into the mix.

The Challenge

This is where you come into this and hopefully, you will check out and try the other creator's prompts. You can also look at the poems linked at the end of this article for ideas to write your own poetry or to throw back and challenge me.

This will be a series of short sonnets based on suggestions by Vocal friends. I will include a suitable video as well.

The challenge is “give me a subject and five words and I will try and create a sonnet”.

That is it, a subject and five words and then I will create a sonnet and hope you will join in with your own challenge criteria and those of others, then we can share and reciprocally read and comment on other entries.

The good thing about defining the format as a sonnet is that it does create a sort of quality control, and I find to form actually helps me to create my poem, concentrating on the content because I already have the framework defined.

Previous Challenge Creations

These are a few that I did in the past starting with a suggestion of my own:

A seasonal from Caroline Jane though the subheading mistakenly mentions Cathy Holmes, my bad:

A Christmas Suggestion from Zel Harrison

A snowy one from Julie Smith

One from Judey Kalchik

This is from Linda Rivenbark

From Karin Venables

From Rika Lekay

A Feline suggestion, unsurprisingly rom Cathy Holmes

Conclusion and My Favourite Vocal Groups

I do hope you will join in with this one way or another. Looking forward to seeing what we can do. Writing poetry can be both challenging and result in some amazing creations.

This is an attempt of mine to bring Vocal Creators together to create and reciprocate and share these works wherever we can.

By doing it as a Vocal Story and now with the commenting option prompts can be left in the Vocal Comments on this post as well as in the Facebook groups.

I thought I would include "Poetry In Motion" by Johnny Tillotson because we all want to keep things moving and keep them interesting as well, and that will keep people interested and bring new ones into the fold.

So come on drop some prompts and some poems of your own.

listsocial commentaryperformance poetryinspirationalhow tofact or fictionexcerpts
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    Excellence. Keep it up! Go you.

  • This is such a cool idea, to ask friends to give you a subject and five words for your sonnet. The subject I'd like to give you is 'Cheating' and the five words are: dentist, petty, chapter, ancestor, peel

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Great ideas and wonderful work!! Thank you for sharing! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.