Poets logo

Might of the Father

A Story of War and Peace

By Emily Marie ConcannonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
Might of the Father
Photo by Manuel Sandoval on Unsplash

Fires burned through the fields of the Earth,

Screams are heard, like a woman in birth.

Children's tears water the flowers,

For no rain falls in refreshing showers.

No laughter is heard echoing on high,

Only wailing and the moaning of sighs.

By Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

You feel alone, like children forgotten,

Like an unfruitful tree, despised, misbegotten.

Down from the stars, I fall to the ground,

Destined to save you and make you feel found.

Knock on the gates of glory and light,

Ask the Father to grant you enlightened new sight.

By Nikola Knezevic on Unsplash

My name is Gabriel, Mighty of Man.

I carry the sword and club in my hand.

Weary am I of man's constant wars,

It fills me with lust for the end of the gore.

Yet still you fight for the Earth below,

Not seeing its a gift on which you all grow.

By Hasan Almasi on Unsplash

So fight on, silly man, until the rivers run red,

With the blood of your own slaughtered and dead.

No pure water left to cleanse you of sins,

Only swords will remain on the globe that spins.

Perhaps I'm too bloody from your constant fights,

Perhaps it has closed me and blinded my sight.

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Emily Marie Concannon

I am a world nomad with a passion for vegan food, history, coffee, and equality.

You can find my first novel on Kindle Vella here: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B09V4S7T4N :) I appreciate all your support and engagement! :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Very well done.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Wow! This is really powerful and well done :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.