Poets logo

Metamorphosis Chronicles | Pt3

The Leaving

By Poppy Published 2 months ago 1 min read
15
Image Created on Midjourney

Small, shaky smiles

Folded clothes

With hope tucked inside

Each pocket

Between each layer

Placed gently in a suitcase

I pull the trigger of the

Fuel dispenser

Filling my car with

Fears and the bravery

To overcome them (hopefully)

Piling the back seat with

Worn notebooks and unread novels

Goodbyes to this wilted city come with

A bittersweet taste on my tongue

I hope I will soon only tie it

To the good things and not

The things that sent me away

Convincing myself I will one day

Only think of my family’s banter

My mother’s welcoming arms

My dog’s warm greetings and

Not my best friend’s ghost

That stood in every corner

Or the loneliness that clung to me

On every street I drove

I drop painful moments

Long passed but still remembered

From the window as I go

Letting them dissolve in

Faraway pastures

I press the ocean

Against my skin

Like a balm

It is the first time

In so long that

The sky has not

Looked like a cage

And this is my confession

I have no idea if I am running

Or healing or if there is even

A difference

(I suppose I am about to find out)

❀❀❀❀❀

The Rest of the Series:

Mental Health
15

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    I suppose you are. Somehow though, I suspect there will be a few ghosts who tag along for the ride. Beautifully & powerfully expressed existential angst, Poppy.

  • Another gorgeous poem! I am so in love with how you create images. Amazing!

  • Kelsey Clarey2 months ago

    This is such a beautiful poem. A great mix of hope and sadness both coming at once.

  • I really like the hopeful tone of this excellent poem, Poppy. Since I adore the ocean, I’m with Dharrsheena on her favourite stanza!🩵 “ I press the ocean Against my skin Like a balm”🤩

  • "I press the ocean again my skin like a balm" Gosh I read that soooo many times! I loveeeeee your poem, especially that stanza

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    Outstanding. People tend to think of running as "away", but it can be "to". Who's to say that there isn't healing available in either version of running? I think there can be. I hope so. I'm in the process of finding out, too.

  • The stanza beginning with Goodbye to this wilted city stole my breath. The contrast between images was visceral. All the way through this poem reached out and brought me in. Amazing work Poppy

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Running or healing or if there's a difference. I felt that so much.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.