Poets logo

Messed Up Little Brain

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
10
Messed Up Little Brain
Photo by Keegan Houser on Unsplash

Dear messed up little brain

Why do you like to make it rain?

What have I done to you?

To deserve this?

Was it worth this?

I didn’t do anything to you

Well, today at least

Could you give it a rest

I’ve gotten enough off my chest

I don’t need to do any more

Let me adore life a little more

Don’t make me question things

Let me just go through life

Happy the way the way are

I’m tired

You’re tired

Let’s just see how things go

Take it slow

It’s been so long since we’ve been together

So much to catch up on

So many changes

Who could blame us?

Who amongst us is blameless?

We’ve all hurt each other

Annoyed one another

Just let me go their

And show that I’m not the same person that left

And see what happens with the rest

She is my happiness

More than a place to rest

More than any of the things others believe

They don’t understand it from the outside

They think it’s something we should hide

Something of shame

But there’s nothing wrong

With being perfectly imperfect

As long as you decide the small things are worth it

I know myself better now

Quieted in my discomfort

To confront myself

Feeling more wealth than ever before

I just want to show the one I adore

That there’s more to explore

I can’t wait to walk through that door

I hope we can all fit

And just sit

With the reality

That life is short

So, make the best of it

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
10

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Heartfelt writing!!👏 😊

  • Thoughtful writing.

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Gosh... that was saturated in melancholy and full of sentiments with which I concur. 🥰

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Very nicely done, and the messed up brain is definitely relatable.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Marvelous!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • The brain--like an express train without any terminal, especially when it comes to relationships.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Very relatable! Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.