Poets logo

Mess

this way, that way

By Brenton FPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

no amount of groups is gonna fix this

same can be said for hugs

like Javo said in Monkey Grip

i like me better when i'm on drugs

i function better when i'm stoned

i'm awesome when i'm high

how i take it and how i fake it

allows me to live in my lie

i dribble and nod on the heroin

but a complete one eighty on the coke

that's the stuff that kills fear dead

makes me a different fuckin bloke

hallucinogens would have to be my go to

unless you can hook me up with some meth

stoned and horny and broke and tripping

a complete and utter mess

i love to hate it and i hate to love it

but it's an integral part of me now

never mind the what's the where's and the whys

and let me worry about the how

i'm confused depressed yet elated

i am what i am nothing more nothing less

it is what it is and nothing else

and i'm just another functioning mess



fact or fiction

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Brenton FWritten by Brenton F

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.