Poets logo

Mental Health

Part I

By Freya Webster Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Mental Health
Photo by Joshua Fuller on Unsplash

I can't read people.

I've never been able.

I get highs and lows but I'm not unstable.

I think I know what I'm doing

I'm a little shy

And I hate to pry

But I always need a straight answer

My feelings don't ever make sense

And it's hard really, but in my defence

I never chose to be this way

I just wanted to be normal like the other kids

But they always seemed desperate to rid

Of people like me.

It's sad really but I'm used to it

Or maybe just I'm over it.

Okay not over it, but adapt, overcome.

School was hard and I said to my mum

I don't want to be here, I'm not liked by anyone

I'm weird and confused and bad at math

She said, we don't all take the same path

You are loved and you're good at other things.

I'm not good with social skills

I'm so used to having nobody there

My dad wasn't around and the replacement didn't care

I just made stories and characters inside my head

Better than humans and I preferred that instead

Never asked if I'd took my pills

Never care how the void was filled

But it was so lonely

I suppose really I'm just figuring things out

Still figuring out what this life is about

And I haven't found it yet

But hopefully I will at some point.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Freya Webster

..Aspiring writer, artist and general creator

There's more to the world than what we believe

There's more to the universe than what we perceive

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.