Poets logo

Living with Synesthesia

Something only 4% of the population share

By Freya Webster Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Living with Synesthesia
Photo by Katya Austin on Unsplash

Sometimes in this world

Full of madness and hysteria

I find myself in a standstill

Feeling exhausted and inferior

I’ll introduce myself to you

As someone with synesthesia

I’ll try to explain this best I can

So you can understand it easier

The phenomena is no illness

Nor a disorder of any sort

It’s recognised more as an influence

That breathes life into one’s thoughts

They call it a perceptual phenomenon

But for me it’s just the usual

The working of the mind’s eye

You must think I’m delusional

You can call my mind a labyrinth

Of which senses intertwine

Visuals and scents amalgamate

And taste and sounds combine

Speak a letter or a number

And I experience so much more

I see a myriad of colours

And textures to explore

Whilst I’m sharing with you my insight

Of being a synesthete

I’m feeling the textures of numbers

And taste the colours I can eat

The number three is pink and furry

The letter M is smooth and green

My mind bleeds out a spectacle of wonder

Like a loud, biological machine

I see an image of an open door

I can smell the scent inside

I feel the essence of words inside my mouth

I feel these encounters collide

I can’t begin to tell you why

I am confronted with the world in this way

But when a week is as stressful as the last

I like to think up a display

Words that sound so satisfying

Colours that taste so rich

Sounds that swirl in kaleidoscopic wisps

That tessellate and bewitch

Now I’ve shared with you my perspective

From my existence on this earth

Beauty comes from the simplest things

And even the smallest things have worth

The phenomena is spectacular

A sensory entwist

But the most incredible thing about it

Is that people with this exist

art
Like

About the Creator

Freya Webster

..Aspiring writer, artist and general creator

There's more to the world than what we believe

There's more to the universe than what we perceive

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.