Poets logo

Memories of You

How much you rue the fact that you didn't get enough moments to tell a person how wonderful they are.

By Utkarsh SinhaPublished 2 years ago โ€ข 1 min read
13
Memories of You
Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

Buried in a pale, dusty box were memories of you

Just a glance and a flurry of thoughts come through

How unexpected was the way you arrived in my life

How reclusive was I when it was all new

I still remember vividly the day we first met

The way you were engrossed in your book in that coffee shop

And I came over to talk as I had read it too

Your smile, the most electrifying thing I had ever seen

"This is gonna go far" at that moment I knew

You brought me out of my shell, made me a better man

And how ardently I wish I could've done the same for you

Each day with you was so perfect, I sometimes envy myself

I still have a hard time believing how time flew

And here I am, standing at your grave

Aching for one more moment, one last look, one last kiss

Holding this box, this pale, dusty box with memories of you.

sad poetry
13

About the Creator

Utkarsh Sinha

Tinkering with my writing skills day in day out. I'm a person who likes quality over quantity. Stay tuned!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Nosrat Jahan Tickly10 months ago

    ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was so heartfelt I could feel your anguish

  • A beautifully enunciated sadness

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Lovely but oh so sad. Such a good reminder to cherish the ones we love. Great work :)

  • Oh no, I didn't expect that ending ๐Ÿฅบ Though sad, this was so beautifully written!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Sad but soooo beautiful. Wonderful job!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Beautiful and heartbreaking. Great job.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Heartbreakingly beautiful. Love lives. โค๏ธ

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Loved it!!!๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ˜Š

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    oh my goodness. That was so beautiful, but sad. Very well done.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This was so sad! I really liked how I wasnโ€™t totally sure where it was going until the last few lines!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.