Poets logo

Memories

Snapshots Of My Life

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
17
Memories
Photo by Boston Public Library on Unsplash

My memories

Are sepia-toned

Immortalized in my minds Kodachrome

Preciously stored within my minds closed vault

And I have the only key.

***

That summer we climbed into my dad’s new car

My sisters, my mum and I

And sang as we drove down that black ribbon of road

Marvelling at dad’s new buy.

***

Summer holidays

Dancing in the rain

Splashing through rain-filled puddles

Down our country lane.

***

My first kiss

My wedding day

Seeing my first child born

I have those pictures locked away.

***

Whenever I’m feeling down or lonely

I open up my vault

And the memories of a life well-lived

Come tumbling out.

***

Now my mind’s eye doesn’t discriminate

It also records the bad

Sad tinged memories

Of the worst times I’ve had.

***

Against my better judgment

Not considering the emotional cost

Sometimes I open that darker album

And weep for what I’ve lost.

***

My memories are sepia-toned

Stored in the vault in my mind

Pictures of my life both good and bad,

They have shaped this man.

heartbreak
17

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.