Poets logo

The Day We First Met

A poem about love

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
13
The Day We First Met
Photo by Khamkéo Vilaysing on Unsplash

The evening heat prickling my skin

The sun’s reflection upon the water

The feel of your hand in mine

Your head upon my shoulder.

*

The scent of your perfume in the air

Is the scent I most remember

The touch of your love upon my soul

Will stay with me forever.

*

Your blue eyes with their hint of green

Always with a mischievous sparkle

Your smile with the dimples in your cheeks

That appears with your laughter.

*

When I awake to smile from a dream

Please know that dream was about you

And I spend every moment of my day

Thanking the heavens I found you.

*

Your gentle breath upon my face

Your arms wrapped around me

Your mumbling and talking in your sleep

I love everything about you.

*

When we met on holiday

So young and so naive

Who could have guessed our summer romance

Would become a lifelong love.

*

All these years later we are still together

And I am in awe to see

You mumbling and talking in your sleep

Laying in bed beside me.

love poems
13

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.