Poets logo

Melancholy

Poetry can be very therapeutic

By Verity GreenePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Melancholy
Photo by Alex Wolfe on Unsplash

These poems were written while I was feeling overwhelmingly anxious. They allowed me to express myself and confront all the thing I did not want to think about. I am still here today, hopeful and with goals, and that is in part because of them.

I love writing poetry with very strong imagery that lets me explore my anxieties without actually naming them.

The Feeling of Sorrow

Ink leaks down the pages of my life

like a spilled pot of ink.

My dreams spill out,

reality turns into nightmare

and nightmares become reality.

Written Lines

I'll write till my fingers bleed,

Till my thoughts warp,

Till I am emptied.

I'll write till my pen runs dry,

Till my journals overflow,

Till my pencils' tip breaks.

& the pages tear under the pressure.

I'll write till my tears stop,

Till me memories fade

Till sleep finally overtakes me.

I'll write until-

Repetitions

Repetitions, repetitions, repetitions

All I see are repetitions

yet I try, oh yes I try

to see past the puzzles

of my life.

The puzzles that are mine alone

and the ones I must share.

The ones that shed light,

and the ones that scare.

The puzzles, the puzzles, the puzzles.

Tsunami

Waves of Tragedy

come crashing down on Humanity.

They shake us and bruise us,

tear us apart as they drown us.

No Mercy, no Pity,

the waves of Tragedy

will consume us.

Days Like Today

Days when I feel I cannot breathe

and cannot keep the anxiety at bay

are days I wish I could sleep away.

Days when old memories taunt me

and frustrate me until they haunt me

are days I wish I could flee.

Days where my heart feels tight

and I cannot concentrate

are days I wish I could erase.

Unforgiving ways

on unforgiving days.

Rebirth

/throat constricting

lungs squeezing

head throbbing

limbs trembling/

Standing in the middle of a vast field

A full moon lights up the night sky

the tall grass sways in the wind

slightly grazing my finger tips.

Eyes closed, I hear the whispers of a song long forgotten-

A song of freedom, pain and new beginnings.

The air is crisp and fresh on my naked shoulders.

It caresses my hips and slivers across my bare arms.

A I inhale deeply, the sharp smell of smoke

finally fills my nostrils.

I open my eyes and see across the field:

a house, the house.. my house

up in flames-

I smile.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Verity Greene

I love writing dark fantasy/ imagery poetry.

instagram.com/flawed.changeling

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.