Poets logo

Meeting Death

stranger now friend

By Gail S.Published 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Meeting Death
Photo by Rinat Alshynbay on Unsplash

You simply won’t believe me

If I told you that I died

You’d roll your eyes and make a face

Assume that I had lied

So my story I will tell you

Until the very end

How death and I met that night

And how he became my friend

It started out so simple

Two people smoking weed

Chillin and relaxing

Who knew where this would lead

Then before I knew it

Something was very wrong

The stuff we smoked was laced

It was just so very strong

I couldn’t feel my body

I couldn’t stand or speak

Everything was growing dark

I felt so very weak

As I slipped into the darkness

I knew the end was near

I could hear a voice from far away

It wasn’t very clear

I knew that I was dying

As I felt my body drop

Nothing could have saved me

As I heard my heartbeat stop

Then a voice it reached out to me

I heard it loud and clear

It begged me not to go away

Not to leave him here

Yet here in the darkness

Was something so brand new

A peace,a quiet,a calm

I knew not what to do

Death was right beside me

As I traveled through the dark

And as a voice tried to pull me back

I felt the smallest spark

Death held my hand and guided me

To where I do not know

But something even stronger

Said it was not my time to go

When I opened my eyes so quickly

My love I did not see

Instead I saw an angel

Who had given life back to me

I felt a kind of peace that night

That will always let me know

Death had become my friend somehow

I would have no fear to go

It held me close and loving

With no sorrow and no pain

When it becomes my final time

I will hold his hand again

I survived that night because of a man

That would not let me go

I will be forever grateful

How much he will never know

Thank you to my angel

For guiding me back to you

For all your love and strength

All that you went through

I will never lose the memory

Of my life at the very end

Or how I held the hand of death

Making him my friend.

Love, G.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Gail S.

I am complicated, confusing and misunderstood but I am real. Life is too short to be anything but happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.