Poets logo

Medicine Man

there are 10,000 feathers in your perfect hair

By Belinda WoodPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

the medicine man lays silk sheets

on my 2x2 clothes-strewn floor

he sows the holes in my socks

kisses the littlest toe on my sorest foot

not once am I not enough.

the medicine man throws the heavy curtains out on my suburban street

braids french lace along the empty rods

he tells me the Spanish sun will kiss you every morning

he tells me his LA mouth will be the first

he tells me he needs to be the first

there’s something about dripping red paint

on his too-cream-chinos

he groans for the art

the stains, he tells me, they wont scrub out

i cant help the glee when he takes them off

i cant help it but rub them clean

the art never comes out.

he doesn't once tell me not to go

he demands i follow the call

because he knows, god damn he knows,

the art flows where my broken feet go.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Belinda Wood

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.