Poets logo

Mean Woman

"You can't rush evolution..."

By Erin LucasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I don’t want to be the

In between

Woman

.

Make me young,

Drench me in the stench

Of youth

And arrogance

.

Make me old,

Wrinkle me and

Stack me like

My bracelets and rings

.

This process

In between

Is daunting at best

.

.

.

Then I have this thought:

I’m thirty-four. My life started over three years ago. Now - I’m sitting in the backyard of the house I rent - the one I live in alone - the one with all the creepy sheds. It’s summer. That means freedom.

Freedom to relax and bask in the sun on weaved vinyl lounge chairs given to you by people - probably taking pity on your seeming lack. But - you’ve outsmarted them all. You know that sitting and sweating and digging in the dirt and painting things inside your creepy sheds is all part of the process - part of your grand design.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Erin Lucas

she/her

Multimedia Creator, Writer, Educator, Nonprofit Organizer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.