Poets logo

Me and You(during Corona)

A poem of light in a time of darkness

By Steven BaldryPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

There is a worried look upon all faces...

We cannot hold hands or share embraces.

As anxiety levels reach extreme...

It is hard to believe this is not a bad Dream.

The stores are closed and the roads are bare.

There is an Earie silence in the air.

And yet the Sun still shines and the Sky is still Blue.

I am still me, you are still You.

We are not allowed to be together through Fear of Contamination.

But we are allowed to spread the Fear of this Virus across the Nation.

As Social media, the TV and the Radio showers the news of how many died.

We don't hear about the thousands who have had this and survived.

There is no doubt these are times of which I thought we would never see.

But these days will pass and one day soon will become a Memory.

We all have our Worries, our Fears and our unwanted Anxiety.

But we also have the power of our minds which allows us to be Free.

As the Showers of Fear Rain down upon us from the Sky...

Remember we are Emotional Sponges You and I.

Beware of all you watch, that you listen too and hear...

There is more going on in this World than Negativity and Fear.

Be sensible keep your distance, wash your hands but try to Smile.

Remember although these days are hard that they will be worth while.

Make the most out of the time that you have upon your hands...

Contemplate your Life and make your own plans.

Have You taken for granted all the little things in your Life ?

Maybe a greater appreciation will be Yours and Mine.

Maybe when all this Madness settles and we have the lives back that we knew...

We will be a better version of Me and You.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Steven Baldry

I have been writing Poetry since I was a teenager. Now in my late thirties I enjoy it more than ever. I find it a wonderful release and it helps me to free my mind and understand myself and my emotions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.