Poets logo

Me & Mrs Cardrew Share Another Bright Erosion

A kitchen sink dysphoria

By C S HughesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I will, perversely, begin here at the end

With a hole for a smile provoked in my arm

Pale, twining fingers for a face

To shield the eyes

From the dirt, from the sun

In corrosive bloom

Arise! Arise!

Dishwater is a kind of ugly death

A cigarette hanging between smeared lips

– with a desperate breath, ash falling

To a greasy slop that makes hands stink

Of rancid bacon fat –

Is the end of love

Another stuttered inhalation

It was a dog, I think, in the manger

With lolling tongue and gravel bark

That woke the babe

Mrs Cardrew washes off her carrion night

In the morning’s tepid water

Wists on a holly crown she wore

The trees above a bare and sky paned folly

When she for a night was once Yule’s queen

For my summer sweetness I will have

Wild mint and dew, honeysuckle, bergamot

And evenings coloured midnight nearest blue

Now she knots her hair like anchor rope

Stained by salt, coils frayed

And of a weight to hold her

To a sea of yesterdays

On the mottled city street I sometimes am

A foundered branch catching loss like flotsam weeds

As the river in its surcease of dismay flows around me

When stillness falls in penance on red and corrugated earth

Booming with a voice of shaken tin

what requited waters pass

What radiant jetsam

Catches ‘gainst my chest

Climb to me she says

I do not know if falling or ascent

I think, below the moon, you gather light

While I laugh with crooked sadness

Or weep unruly joys

What ever brings this moment most delight

Drowing on the linoleum once more

Arms weakly flailing, comets in my eyes

The ceiling is as distant as the stars

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

C S Hughes

C S Hughes grew up on the edges of sea glass cities and dust red towns. He has been published online and on paper. His work tends to the lurid, and sometimes to the ludicrous, but seeks beauty in all its ecstasy and artifice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.