Poets logo

Maybe Watermelon

An ode to my journey.

By Jenna BygallPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Image Description: Pink, purple, and blue hydrangeas.

My pink friends only wanted blue,

they shared their feelings, mine unfelt.

My blue friends only wanted pink

but not my shade, I never dwelt.

I thought I’d want a love azure,

but only sometimes; rare, that was.

And when cerulean asked to date

rejection came as breathing does.

All on my own and so it went,

there must be something wrong, I thought.

My nose, too big, my body too,

a constant battle inside fought.

Though now I know some reasons why;

guard up, eyes down, don’t look or see.

I’ve built a wall of bricks and fear

perceive-me-nots, grown just for me.

Rosé went walking by one day

my mind then whispered, maybe, oh!

A future living freely, my

admission, inside, hope aglow.

So for myself I will be loud

unleashed and uninhibited,

appreciation endless, now

my love can be unlimited.

For years I claimed that midnight tint

and still. But now I see much more.

Of cobalt lilac fuchsia blush,

with every shade, it's love galore.

I think it’s time to tell the world -

to scream to yell or even shout,

my soul deserves abundant joy

I’m happy, grateful. Now, I’m out.

Happy *almost* Pride Month :) If you're reading this, I'm bisexual! Same old Jenna, just much happier with herself and with life.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Jenna Bygall

A 26-year-old Central New York girl who loves houseplants and fantasy novels. Writing about whatever my brain has enough dopamine for. Editor, author(?), doer, sleeper.

Follow me on Instagram or Twitter!

she/her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jade Haumann10 months ago

    Jenna, this is SO beautiful. Beautiful imagery, beautiful sentiment, and such beautiful meaning 🩵💜🩷

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.