Poets logo

Maybe

Or Maybe Not

By Marlyn StavePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Maybe I feel depressed because of my own disappointments

Maybe it's because I don't know how to let happy in

Knocking on my door, with a police-like chap

But I am afraid and hiding behind a couch

Out of view of the window

I am afraid in case Happy and I do not see eye to eye

What if we have nothing in common

What if I am supposed to be in this mental battle until I chap at Happy's door and Happy is naive enough to let me in and be welcome.

Maybe I want to travel because I feel like the people round here have memorised my rise and fall like an old rollercoaster

Maybe I want to make new first impressions

Maybe I'll be disappointing with those people too

And maybe I'd have to travel a new city every week to have a continuous moment of not being an utter disappointment to everyone who lays eyes on me

Or

Maybe I need to stay here and make amends

Maybe I need to show and prove that I am capable of change

I am capable of derailing the constant rollercoaster of my emotions to mere teacups spinning round

I am not sure

All I know is maybe I talk to myself too much

Maybe I need to open my mouth and let out all the butterflies built up from meeting new people through the years

As there's a storm raging in my pancreas

And I need calm seas and smooth breezes

Not a storm

I am storm enough

Knock knock

Who's there?

Let's turn the handle and see, shall we?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Marlyn Stave

I am a 23 year old Scottish artist. By artist, I mean I paint and sketch and write and make.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.