Poets logo

Matthew In Granada

On The Loss Of A Very Dear Friend

By Adam EvansonPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
Like
Matthew  In Granada
Photo by Dimitry B on Unsplash

“I have a fine Galician wine and a beautiful stray cat with one ear, dozing on my ever so charming rustic patio, Ralph. Would you care for a sip of cool chardonnay, to caress the lisp on your poorly parched lips?” breathed Matthew."

All I could do was wonder in awe at his easy demeanour and charming good manners. As everybody knows, good breeding always shows.

One night, ever so slightly drunk, in some random bar, Matthew asked if I had ever been to Granada.

“I dearly wish I could say “rather.” I replied “Tis a beautiful rainbow in a jar I hear. But alack, alas, tis quite far from here...”

“Then we shall go in the morn and I will enthral you with one of the Seven Wonders of the world my friend. Let’s give it a whizz, let’s give it a whirl.” Matthew declared. I didn’t blanch, I didn’t blink, I didn’t dare.

The very next day, Saturday at dawn, the telephone rang and jangled my nerves as I partook of petite d’jeuner.

“It’s me Matt, do you recall, late last night I promised to enthral you with Granada? Or were you too drunk as a skunk with too many glasses of wine from my larda?” he enounced with great style and bravura.

“No” I replied “t’would be a pleasure kind sir. What time will you be here?” I whispered hoarsely, “Or would you rather I go in my car to collect you? You’ve been such a treasure, it’s so nice to be connected.”

“That’ll be fine, I can get back to my wine and expect to see you at eight thirty. Oh, and please don’t forget, I’ll be bringing my cat, she’s such a pet. She spent a night on the tiles mewing and wooing, you know she’s ever so flirty.”

And with that the scene was set for the best weekend yet with a cat, a mat and a Matthew. “That’s fine, that gives me an hour, just enough time to take a shower and then I’ll be with you, Matthew.” I cringed a little at too much at my own hazy humour, at my own dubious little play on a words, but I’m not sure he heard.

And so it came to pass, with no lack of a lass thanks to the cat, that we spent an amazing weekend in Granada. I can’t think of a time when without a glass of wine I saw Matthew in such fine fettle and so divine. And ever so prepared to enunciate such charm with a generous spread of energy, speaking his so well educated, mild mannered mind.

Matthew you were neither a brother nor a lover, but I loved you all the same. And I’m so sad that you’ve gone to wherever you are. I’m over-awed you ever even came into my life. You really where one of a kind.

R.I.P Matthew.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.