Poets logo

Mating Season

of the Praying Mantis

By Barb SnodgrassPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Imagine her kind of swaying to the romantic stylings of Michael Buble music

sewing...minding my business bobbing a chrome upholstery needle reattaching my chocolate & parchment button to my clover hued linen trousers

looking down to find a tiny dancing asparagus sprig with a more minuscule bulbous eyeballed artichoke piked a'top it---a praying mantis I've apparently hypnotized

dropping the cadmium spear for my mulberry & turquoise otter-boxed iphone calming the clementine flamingo sparklers shooting from both ears---I'd crept within inches

eye to eye---zooming 'til I spot her bony razor-spined raptorial forearms out 'a cannon she fires herself "CRACK!", "AAAAHAHHHHHHHH!!!"

didn't find my phone 'til her attempted apple sexual cannibalism had cracked my screen

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.