Poets logo

Masking

The Hidden Struggle

By Daisey MaidenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Masking
Photo by Kristopher Roller on Unsplash

The World Says:

Do this

Do that

Don’t talk

Don’t laugh

Do as I say

Do it my way

Don’t speak

Don’t think

Do all I say

Do it all day

Don’t cry

Don’t sigh

Just do

And die

My Soul Screams:

I am bleeding inside

Where no one can see

My pain is real

Though nobody knows

I lick my wounds

In the darkness of the night

I open my mouth to speak

But no words come out

So in the light of the day I smile

And in the dark of the night I cry

And the cycle goes on forever

With no end in sight

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Daisey Maiden

Paul Laurence Dunbar wrote "We wear the mask that grins and lies." It is through writing that I have been able to break free of my mask. I enjoy writing about Psychology, Neurodivergence, my experiences, and my quirky interests.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.