Poets logo

Marching Home

An after the parade poem.

By Call Me LesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
13

*

After the parade, no company do I keep.

When all is drear and dark and bleak,

And out the window the moon is dull,

I lay without you,

Always without you,

My arms are empty and my heart too full.

*

Daytime hours fly by in love and light,

'Til all is passed and out of sight.

When dusty workday's parade is over,

Softly, I speak with you,

Across the miles with you,

Together, we plan our forever.

*

Voices and faces from many different places.

Parade's conversation cannot fill hollow spaces.

No matter if I'm beloved by many,

Alone in my room,

Tears shed in the gloom.

Without you here, I never feel steady.

*

How is it a heart can overflow?

A thousand seeds be laid down to sow?

Yet I lie barren? No crop to reap?

When day's parade is gone,

When light's light is gone,

Like sap cut free, my love does seep.

*

When I can see past my darkened bower,

I still have faith in the parade's power,

I know someday you will march home to me.

Then long lines will be broken,

And words in one time spoken.

Please let the parade bring you home to me.

*

For you are the one who makes me whole.

And you are the reason I am not whole.

Until the day we may eschew our sorrow.

When your ring becomes mine,

And mine becomes thine,

Only after that parade will our happiness follow.

*

Yes, when the parade finally marches us onwards,

Then, I will not mind that the parade is over.

*

Written for the After the Parade Challenge on Vocal Media.

First published by Call Me Les July 2022

Media from Shutterstock.

love poems
13

About the Creator

Call Me Les

Aspiring etymologist and hopeless addict of children's fiction.

If I can't liberally overuse adverbs and alliteration, I'm out!

Instagram @writelesplaymore

Vocal Spotlight

~&~

She/Her

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    I am surprised I never commented on this beautiful heartfelt work. I left insights and a heart though ♥️ , big hugs

  • Rachel M.J2 years ago

    Lovely, Les <3

  • Really touched with all the folks who enjoyed this. It's lifted my courage up to try some more poetry.

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Beautiful poem Les. ❤️

  • Dana Stewart2 years ago

    Achingly persuasive - you have a penchant for poetry. Well done!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is incredible. Well done.

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Beautiful ❤️

  • Ali Howarth2 years ago

    Beautiful

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Heartfelt and beautiful poem!!!💖💕

  • such vulnerability. it touches my heart <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.