Poets logo

Many Things

A short poem

By Kira LempereurPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Home is many things

And they change as I do.

When one thing is broken

I must find something new.

My first home was the arms

Of those who love me.

My second, a crib,

A place of sanctuary.

There’ve been many more.

Only rarely were they places.

I moved every year

So homes became faces.

Once I was older

And wiser (I believe)

I found my peace and bliss

In things like fall leaves

And in stories that existed only for me.

In writing things I could never be.

In singing, in dancing,

In climbing a tree.

Eventually in friends

And schoolwork well done.

In learning new things

From all I could see.

But one time I chose a home

That destroyed everything else.

The arms of a man who claimed love

And stole my sense of self.

In no time at all

Hell, less than a year,

He took all my homes

And turned them to fear.

It broke me and shattered me

Ground me to dust.

And I thought, for a while

A home was broken trust.

It took several years

Of thaws and of freezes.

To find who I’d once been

Without all the pieces.

I dragged myself back together

One broken inch at a time.

Retreated to lick my wounds

In a home that was all mine.

Since then, I’ve gathered

The things that bring light.

I wrap them around me

Once more ready to fight.

Home is many things

And they changed as I did.

And the things that were broken

Were renewed from the dead.

My new home, my peace,

Is perfect and free.

I never feel safer than in the arms

Of my wife, who loves me.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kira Lempereur

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.