Poets logo

MAMA šŸ’–

To all mothersā£ā£

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 8 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
3
MAMA šŸ’–
Photo by Alex Pasarelu on Unsplash

I am not yet a mother, but it is an honor to be one, and to all the mothers out there I salute you.

I donā€™t know anything about childbearing but compared to monthly cycles I know it is not a walk in the park.

I may not know how to change a diaper, but honestly speaking all mothers are doing a great job.

I have not been woken up by the wailing of a hungry infant only the buzzing of mosquitoes so mothers are indeed strong.

My breasts have not been sucked dry in the name of breastfeeding and you may not know this, but I stand with our mothers, respect!

I donā€™t know what goes in the labor rooms, only the ā€˜push! Push!ā€™ and ā€˜I can see the baby! And anyone can tell it is a battle that most women win.

I donā€™t know the despair that comes when the baby does not cry but I do know it is panic waves to a mother.

I have not encountered unfriendly nurses during antenatal checkups but I have heard sad stories from experienced expectant mothers.

I have not dreaded the loss of a child due to high fever but I have seen what a frustrated mother can do. Hearts of a Warrior.

I have not called my mother in desperation because of my infantā€™s skin rash but I have seen my sister do it with shaking voice and hands.

I donā€™t know how it feels to be a mother.

A new mother in town or even a mother of nine.

I donā€™t know what it takes to be one strong one.

I donā€™t know how they push through.

But what I do know isā€¦.

To be a mother is a blessing.

To be a mother is a calling.

To be a mother is a decision.

To be a mother is a sacrifice.

To be a mother is a gift.

It comes from above, and bless you all who are mothers.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Oh no, I never wanna be a mother. Lol. It's just ain't my thing. I loved your poem!

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    I think this may be my favorite story so far. I have an aunt who has 14 children, and would have had more if the Doctor didn't say stop. Good grief. There are those who cannot conceive and those who wish not to conceive, and those who just keeps on giving. Motherhood is many things including those who are the best of mothers having never conceived. Best of luck on whichever you choose. No choice is wrong, they are life decisions based on your heart.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.