Poets logo

Malpractice

A poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
4
Malpractice
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

If I screamed until my throat were raw,

would you finally listen?

Would you just wait for me to quiet,

to suck up all the air in the room to just speak over me?

I am layered in your assumptions,

and it’s getting too heavy to carry.

Im not your little wooden puppet,

my nose isn’t growing with lies.

Yet you set me on fire every time I see you,

and still my truths splinter free.

Tiny pieces of my reality I build up time and time again,

consistency is key they say after all.

Does that work for doctors too?

I’m beyond a broken record,

I’m becoming trilingual in hopes you may understand me with each new language.

I could finger spell it out for you,

because I’m so tired of screaming at some form of yourself you’ve set in stone.

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran24 days ago

    Gosh this was so intense and poignant. Loved your poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.