Poets logo

Make Art, Not Shards

A Free Verse Poem

By Lindsay SfaraPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Make Art, Not Shards
Photo by Raimond Klavins on Unsplash

And so we wind between our words

like delicate dancing steps.

Beauty is in the eye that sees

but all I see is your shattered glass;

and you refuse to pick up the pieces

of your past, present, and future,

as you disregard my own patchwork

that I see as an art in progress.

Your shards cut when we are close

and I’m afraid of my own glass breaking

by your thoughts in sound waves

and that disapproving stare of ice—

no, jealousy?

.

Oh, my dearest friend.

I share not my window of art

for you to peer in with spite,

nor is my celebration of life

to draw a black hole between us

so you can see a “me versus you.”

I share my window of the world

to show how you too, yes you,

can pick up your pieces of glass

and make art of your own.

When I next glance with my eyes

I wish to see your true colors

that kaleidoscope with life.

.

Yes, I dream of a world

made up of mosaic windows,

and we are the artists

that stand together behind it;

hand in hand.

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryinspirationalFree Verse

About the Creator

Lindsay Sfara

I'm just a daydreaming nerd writing poetry and fiction about mental health.

Follow my novel journey and more: lindsaysfara.com

"Not all those who wander are lost" - J.R.R. Tolkien

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • John Cox5 months ago

    This is a beautiful and at times heartbreaking poem. I love how you move from broken shards of glass to hopeful mosaic windows, taking those same shattered pieces to create beauty. Great writing Lindsay!

Lindsay SfaraWritten by Lindsay Sfara

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.