Poets logo

Make America True

What does America mean to me?

By Mason DiRenzoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

So, what does America mean to me?

Plenty equality, freedom, and peace?

All I can say, if I’m saying the least

Is America’s lacking the free.

America’s lacking the free.

A bird can’t fly if it’s trapped in a cage,

A deer can’t run if it’s stopped by a wall.

So if the American eagle can’t fly,

The American dream could fall.

For what am I supposed to do?

Come up to a wall and walk right through?

If democracy won’t let everyone through

Is liberty and freedom true?

This is the question that I ask you.

From small children to young adults,

From the lower class to minorities,

Through the strength of American liberty,

All of these people must be free.

But free? What does that mean?

How should I know, at the age of fourteen?

If the American people don’t know what it means

Is America really the land of the free?

This is the question that I ask you.

To achieve freedom, what should we do?

We must come together throughout the nation,

And ensure that all equality is true.

True for me, and true for you.

True for the wealthy and poor alike.

So back to my question, what should we do?

At only fourteen, it takes me and you.

So help the American dream come true.

Equal for me, and equal for you.

This will then create an example

Of an America that’s finally true.

social commentary

About the Creator

Mason DiRenzo

My name is Mason DiRenzo, and I am 15 years old. I enjoy writing poetry and short stories. I won the Young GA Author's competition the past 2 years for my grade in my district with poems I wrote. I look forward to posting on Vocal!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mason DiRenzoWritten by Mason DiRenzo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.