Poets logo

Lead Life Without Fear

My Place In This World

By Mason DiRenzoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Lead Life Without Fear
Photo by Jan Antonin Kolar on Unsplash

I am 15 years old, and I’m marching along, to the beat of the drum that the world plays for me.

I try to stay wise and I try to be strong, and as long as I’m silent I’m marching with glee,

But to go with the flow and to stay in the know is often reserved for a social pro,

But my social skills lack, and when talking I slack in attempt to stay out of the spotlight show.

The show of society highlights each person as though they are under a spotlight of eyes;

For whose eyes they are, nobody quite knows, who’s watching and thinking bad thoughts in disguise

Like “You’re such a weirdo!” and “You’re such a jerk!”; It never comes out of their mouths but I wonder

I think “Is that what they think about me? Was there a message hidden in my words deep under!?”

I could cry, I could shout, I could scream and could pout, but I have to stay calm and maintain self control.

I can’t bathe in my tears, for I have to behave in a way that lets my day just stay on a roll.

And I’ll hold in my feelings, irrational fears, and when I get home I may burst into tears.

You see, that is the way of my life day to day with much OCD and irrational fears.

People like me you may say don’t fit in, disabled, unable to socially act,

But I am like you, this is perfectly true, but I hold my emotions in an egg that could crack.

I’m very expressive, my feelings will shine, they are not locked away, they grow out like a vine!

They write on my paper, they live in my head, at the end of the day they will settle down fine.

Social connection’s a challenge for me, but my day to day goal is to try to succeed.

I may feel strange emotions, experience stress, but my goal is to keep my life happy, indeed

I suppose that my place in this world is quite clear; be a leader through thoughts not a leader through tears!

I’ll maintain my smile from ear to ear and will lead through my wisdom and knowledge, not fears!

inspirational

About the Creator

Mason DiRenzo

My name is Mason DiRenzo, and I am 15 years old. I enjoy writing poetry and short stories. I won the Young GA Author's competition the past 2 years for my grade in my district with poems I wrote. I look forward to posting on Vocal!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mason DiRenzoWritten by Mason DiRenzo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.