Poets logo

Magick Words

Substance and sustenance

By Suzy Jacobson CherryPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Page from a 1990s Wiccan/Pagan coloring book, colored by the poet. Photo by the poet.

"My name in his mouth like that is an incantation"  - Hazel Beck, Small Town, Big Magic

~~~

He feeds me words like worshippers feed the gods

Full meals of milk and honey, dripping

Over sweetmeats sticky with anticipation

I accept the offering as it melts on my tongue

Spun-sugar confection, fantasy visions

Awaken emotions long forgotten

I eat of his promises, sweet invocations

Calling forth the honey-wine of my love

Casked in ancient oakwood and valued

Far beyond the vintage of our youth

© Suzy Jacobson Cherry, American Writer

Note: I read the book Small Town, Big Magic as part of my Sisterhood of the Traveling Book Club, and the quote from the protagonist, Emerson, grabbed me. The book wasn't perfect, but it was a fun read.

If you're interested, you can take a look at the Amazon page:

~~~

This poem was originally published in Sweet Paprika!, a now defunct publication on Medium.

love poemsFriendshipbook reviews

About the Creator

Suzy Jacobson Cherry

Writer. Artist. Educator. Interspiritual Priestess. I write poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and thoughts on stuff I love.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Fly Alone3 days ago

    Sweetness of love - I liked it. 🌹

Suzy Jacobson CherryWritten by Suzy Jacobson Cherry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.