Poets logo

Magical Mushroom Frisson with my Alien Lover called Tom

Poetry

By Teresa RentonPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
13
Magical Mushroom Frisson with my Alien Lover called Tom
Photo by Lance Reis on Unsplash

An outburst of sun guns, shoot you to me

one sunny Saturday in spring.

What can you show me? What must I see?

I blush rosette. You're rather alluring.

* * * * *

You look like a human, with an alien glow

I scour through my list of things to do

decide it's mushrooms I must show

Champignon, button, starfish, bamboo.

* * * * *

I want my wicked, devilish finger way

so step this way my bearded babybella,

on mossy forest floors I'll lead you astray,

my chestnut-skinned, oyster-eyed alien fella.

* * * * *

You tip your inkcap, wink

address me as your foxy bolette.

I curl my tongue-of-fire around ink,

excelsa, amarita, spissa--sexy, whispered vignette.

* * * * *

We light bonfires, fly with angel wings,

eat pizza, peziza, exhale with saffron milk sigh,

feast on kinky cremini like kings

turkey tail to a pink disco labyrinth high.

* * * * *

We drink wine cap all night long

until corn-smut talk drives me insane

so we bunapi shimeji to a groovy song

I run gypsy fingers through your shaggy mane.

* * * * *

I pour words into your wood ear,

play with your chestnut pom pom.

You kiss my pale bolete, switch it up a gear.

I call you wolf, you say 'call me Tom'.

* * * * *

Your Ox's tongue blushers me.

We swing from golden chanterelles.

You burst my puffball, set me free

we dance in a fairy ring of bells.

* * * * *

I'm no veiled lady, hold no snow morels galore;

when you whisper sweet truffles, call me honey, lily,

this bay deliquesces, cries for more.

So again and again, you thrill my velvet pioppini.

* * * * *

I am your scarletine, your unchanging princess,

our bodies a galaxy merger of lust.

When luscious olive-salver seeps, we cry out YES!

You shower me with stardust crust.

* * * * *

On mossy banks we curl, unfurl and frill

under a nightcap of celestial skies

we peak smouldering webcap on a mountain thrill,

watched by an audience of starry eyes.

* * * * *

Me, a blushing amanita, didn't take you for a stinkhorn,

a bearded trumpet of death, a total shiitake,

I wasn't prepared for your nonchalant scorn

when you eye a leggy shroom and I get narky.

* * * * *

You giant puffball! You fungal deceiver!

you slippery jack-ass, you thought you could flit?

Your one day on earth made you a teaser

I showed you magic, and you bloody well blewit.

* * * * *

🤍

Thank you for reading my work. I am a writer and an imperfect perfectionist who inhales life, exhales stories. I write flash, essays, fiction & poetry.

Publishing history includes Flash Fiction Magazine, Across the Margin, Stick Figure Poetry, 101 Words, 50 Give or Take.

surreal poetryhumor
13

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    OMG this is incredible, Teresa! I don't know what made me wait to read this. This does not deserve to be on Vocal but it does deserve to win the alien challenge and I hope it does! Get it in a literary magazine once you win, please? (There's got to be one that doesn't care if it's been elsewhere online first.) Top notch, next level poem. WOW. Choosing mushrooms to show an alien is particularly clever here. I think my husband would do the same, if he had the opportunity. Considering mushrooms are the closest thing to aliens on Earth, it makes perfect sense to introduce them to a real alien; maybe we'd get some answers about their nature! How unfortunate to see how much of a scallawag the alien turned out to be, though! Love how you fit in the Stinkhorn and blewit, I must say; you saved the most obvious sexual mushroom (stinkhorn) for last, and it was worth the build up, especially because of all the mushrooms I learned along the way! To sum up: just brilliant on so many levels. You are SO GOOD.

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    I loved this (and I don't even like mushrooms) 😁

  • You have a gift with words

  • That was Fun Gal (LOl) Great entry

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Wow. You actually made mushrooms sexy. Great job.

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Wow. A voyeuristic shrooming experience that’s out of this world. I say, “Winner winner, mushroom dinner!” PS. And yes I blushed, well maybe a bit more than that. Maybe I will sign up for that online class, “Men are from Mars” 🤣

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great work! Good job!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Amazing - probably more amazing if I knew more about mushrooms. There is a walk I go in, in about another month, I now want to walk it with you.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    This is INCREDIBLE! You worked all of those in so skillfully and kept the storyline going. Great job, Teresa!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.