Poets logo

Magical Flames

Or Is It Pop Rocks

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
It is always scary to have your children in the hospital

Maxim is my word for the day and it is often used as a guiding rule

Please excuse me when I say, Don't sell magic flames by candy, fool!!

A maxim is: Don't sell poison next to candy!

Poison that is packaged in a dandy

Container that looks like pop rocks

Just about knocked off my socks

When Brynn picked up a package by the candy in L&M.

I was tortured by what happened to my grand babies and there it was again

It all came flooding back.

No going back to that shack.

Who are the crazy ones who made pop rocks looking poison in a pop rocks container and who are the crazy ones who sell pop rocks by the candy in the store.

But blame the parents, blame the mom

Keep selling poison by the candy

Keep blaming the parents you damn dandy

You self absorbed son of a gun

Imagine my surprise to see that there...

I guess we are not done.

Brynn and Paxton are a lot like twins

So how like twins you say?

Less than a year apart

Both with big heart

I sat and prayed and got the message they would win that day.

Hooked up to respiration

And intubation

On sleep meds

Staying in their beds

Beep, beep, beep the machines in their rooms sound

Sleep, sleep, sleep is all around

Brynn and Paxton in their bed

Dad on the sofa instead

Mom is walking the halls

And it's better than climbing the walls

From Brynns room and back to Paxtons room.

They each have their own nurse

It could be worse.

The doctors they share and they are everywhere.

Respiratory pops in from time to time

Is that a good sign?

Most certainly not I whine.

Maxim: Don't package poison that looks like candy or sell poison next to the candy as its too handy

Or blame the parents

It just doesn't warrant.

(Adapted from 2018)

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    I can feel the pain of this piece

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.