Poets logo

lured

a Limerick for Mother Combs Challenge

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
11
lured
Photo by Shannon Potter on Unsplash

There once was a spider called Fred

Who wove an incredibly intricate web

He lived by his dharma

But succumbed to his karma

In a pint glass that trapped him ‘till dead

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

Written for Mother Combs Limerick Challenge (below).

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

Ever since I read a tatty and ancient book of limericks that lived in a toy box at my grans many decades ago - I was fascinated with them. I loved the predictable and ‘bouncy’ feel they have. Most of the ones in that book had this (see below) formula… And there were many of these Limericks in the book… so this style feels very familiar for me to play with.

“there once was a someone from somewhere, who did something unusual whilst being there, write what occurred, cause a bit of a stir, wrapping up with humour for flair”

If you enjoyed mine, here are a few more limericks of mine. The last one is just silly, the other two more thought provoking - like this 😉

social commentaryhumor
11

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Alas, poor Fred. I knew him well. I woulda' let him go, but I love the limerick anyway. Not sure how I missed this, but Great job!

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    I love spiders! But, I do love this limerick. So, I'm conflicted! Nice job, Kayleigh! lol!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Great job on this. Poor spider.

  • Denise E Lindquist7 months ago

    I love a good limerick They do make some sick I enjoyed reading this before bed until the spider was dead.

  • Whoaaa, I can't believe he killed him off! Lol! That was a plot twist to me! Loved your limerick!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I have no idea how to do a limerick but they sure are fun!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Oh no! I thought he had more in store for him!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    This is great!! Love it

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    LOL poor Fred 😂😂😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.