Poets logo

Lunch At Michael's

local diner, table for 7

By Jesse LawPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lunch At Michael's
Photo by Kelsey Knight on Unsplash

Hey, it’s been quite a while since I’ve been in town.

I miss all you guys.

I’m sorry I don’t show it.

I guess it’s easier to pretend my life has moved on since those days.

Do any of you remember the scared kid I was?

Or maybe that was just me.

I didn’t like to talk.

I didn’t smile much, even though you were my reasons to.

Hey, it’s been quite a while, I can feel my guitar miss the beat of your drums

When I’m in my car, I miss laughing so dumb!

Hey, it’s been quite a while! Do you remember when we used to canoe?

Sometimes it rained, but, I mean, what could you do?

Time keeps marching on.

I try not to step so fast,

Trying to make the good times all last.

Hey, it’s been quite a while. I don’t think I’ve ever spent the holidays alone,

But it helps to remember how all of you can make a place feel like home.

It’s been quite a while,

It’s been several years since some of you seen my face.

In person, I mean, and I’m real sorry if that’s been the case.

There’s not enough time in the world to slow down,

Even when I manage to roll back in town.

We all ate a Michael's out on North Ashley

I didn’t want to leave.

Please, believe.

I didn’t want to leave.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jesse Law

A musician, a poet, a friend, and over-thinker based in Columbus, OH.

Find me on Spotify or other music services.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.