Poets logo

New Year's

backlog, number 4

By Jesse LawPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
New Year's
Photo by Adam Tinworth on Unsplash

So the year dies in a night, replaced by the new year today.

I counted up costs of time I've lost. Time, it won't stop for me.

Where did all of the time go?

Spring rolls in with the best intentions, I just wish the days would be slow.

Summer sun sets on all of my lost bets, I just wish the days would be slow.

Woke up last fall feeling something was off, and I know I ain't coming home.

I'm not a quitter, but it'll soon be winter. I'll be out in the cold.

So the year dies in a day, replaced by the new here, tonight.

I want to feel like anything matters, not like a withering light.

I won't pretend summer won't end, I just wish the days would be slow.

I know next fall won't be the same at all, but I know I'll never come home.

It's a long, hard winter if I can't be with her. I'll be shivering, cold.

But, I know I've found that when spring comes around,

I'll be wishing the days would be slow.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jesse Law

A musician, a poet, a friend, and over-thinker based in Columbus, OH.

Find me on Spotify or other music services.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.