Poets logo

Lucky in Friendship

An ode to a very special woman friend

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 months ago 3 min read
15
Image courtesy of Pixabay

She wears the colour of her skin in regality,

The luscious ebony glows in a picture of health,

Warrior goddess proudly on display,

As she skirts the sidewalk in graceful stealth.

**

I walk behind her and follow in her steps,

Two strangers destined to collide within the night,

I lose sight of her as we enter the crowded room,

And she slips from my mind once out of sight.

**

Until……..

A song hits the airways, volume up high,

And my feet find a desperation to skip and keep step,

I fight the temptation; alone, no, I’m way too shy.

**

You see, the disco floor is empty,

No fancy footwork dancing up a storm,

The crowd scrums around the edges,

Waiting for somebody else to be the first to perform.

**

The song is famous in its own right,

MJ’s toe tapping song title ‘Black Or White’,

The beat begins to heat the blood running in my veins,

And my heart beat lengthens in delight.

**

Then a mesmerising depth of dark black eyes catch mine,

Locking me into the reality in which we exist,

A determined nod of her head was all that was necessary,

My feet took on a life of their own, the music impossible to resist.

**

We met in the centre of the dance floor,

Two lonely souls connecting instantaneously; entwined,

Feet skipping, toes tapping, smiles widening, gazes locked,

Two hearts reached across the barrier and combined.

**

My snowy white skin stood in contrast,

To the ebony sheen of this glorious dark-haired girl,

MJ’s words were not lost on the crowds as they watched,

And the two of us let our laughter escape and unfurl.

**

From that monumental dance that feels like only yesterday,

But was in fact, over three decades ago,

I’ve had the luck to experience a friendship that spans this life,

A precious treasure, a gift; a non-blooded Sister; a deadly combo.

**

This wonderful woman, this glorious human being,

Taught me the definition of a great mother; the epitome of love,

Led me through the history of her cultural essence,

And stood beside me proudly when discrimination gave a shove.

**

I learned the true beauty of her tough inner strength,

As she shook off life’s grief like water off a duck’s back,

Held her head high and graced the difficulties head on,

Shielding me behind her when we were under attack.

**

She honoured me with her love and her darkest secrets,

And together we could gift humour even in our darkest hour,

She opened her heart and demanded I do the same,

And taught me how to harness our awesome girl power.

**

I have always known if I ever need a shoulder she’ll offer me two,

Or if it’s just an ear I need, she’ll leave her judgement at home,

And don’t get me started on her heart warming hugs,

Because it incites ‘it’s all going to be okay’ syndrome.

**

I look up to this woman in awe and astonishment,

She has lifted me to great heights all these many years,

Been my greatest inspiration; my goddess of wisdom,

My soul-tethered angel and my destroyer of fears.

**

One day on a dance floor to an epic song,

Two worlds collide and begin to blend,

Synchronicity weaving through our individual destiny’s,

And welcoming a new lifelong friend.

**

For all of this, I’m sending my gratitude upon the wind,

As we currently are separated by miles, but not by heart,

Listen for my words as I whisper them with love,

Please know that our friendship has been golden from the start.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Friendship
15

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 months ago

    Lovely heartfelt words

  • PK Colleran2 months ago

    Beautiful ode to a beautiful friendship. I love this: "the true beauty of her tough inner strength." 🦋

  • A friend I'm guessing who will always know how to contact you once you're on walkabout..., driveabout..., campabout..., nomadland.

  • Awww, this was such a wonderful tribute to your friend! I loved it so much!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Beautiful tribute to your dear friend. Well done.

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Welling up with tears; the beauty of friendship that spans decades is irreplaceable. My best friend is from a Polish background and we both have white skin and had brown babies who are now grown-ups. There is simply no measure to how well we know each other, better than our mother's knew us. This is really beyond beautiful Colleen.

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    The best of friends are those that grow up in a different culture and diversity.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.